Girls just wanna have fun!

girls So these 3…..what to say.

My daughter and her 2 daughters.

One year ago they moved. They moved to Hawaii, and I thought my heart would crack in a million pieces. My daughter and her husband wanted a different life for these 2 girls, I understood. I don’t blame them. Living in an affluent area you see the trappings of wealth all around you. There had been way too many elementary school children coming out to the car pool line with their heads buried into their iphones, or ipads texting.

Texting in 5th grade???? On THEIR iphones???? NO, couldn’t be.

But sadly I see it everywhere, kids with their noses buried in video games, on the phone, etc. And not only is it kids, I see adults walking zombies, they cannot spend a moment alone, in silence. It’s so sad.

I gotta tell you, I was so sad to see them move , they live very close to me, but I will be there soon also. I went to visit, guess what we did? The girls took me to see ancient, hundreds of year old turtles laying in the sand, right across from their house on the beach. Can you imagine laying in the sand and having a conversation with a 200 yr. old turtle ….like that happens everyday? Well for my girls it does.

How amazing for these girls to experience living like this! The world was opening for them and showing what wonders it has to offer. The little one snorkels for hours lost in an underwater fantasy.

No their heads are not buried in video games, they are learning, living and thriving. I love these muchkins, and am so proud of my daughter and her husband for taking a stand. It was really tough for her. She left all of her friends, good friends that meant a lot, but the girls future was the over riding factor. She knew for the sake of her kids she had to do it.  I am so happy, and so incredibly  proud that she is the kind of Mom that she has turned out to become. Putting her fears aside, and stepping out of her box, to make a change for her girls. She cared more about their future than HER own insecurities, or fears…..I cannot tell her how amazing she is. I know how hard it was for her to step out of her comfort zone. It’s a great lesson for all of us. Take a chance, believe in your own strengths, they will see you through anything and everything, if you only give yourself a chance and the credit.

turtle

She is the kind of Mom all kids need. She is a nurturer, she is loving, she is a trooper! I couldn’t be more proud a grandma.

I love them so much!

2 thoughts on “Girls just wanna have fun!

Leave a Reply

