JFK …47 yrs ago today.

I will never forget that fateful day 47 years ago today. I was in middle school. The phone rang in my English class, and the teacher went to pick it up. I watched her in slow motion as her face turned to horror, then tears began to stream down her cheeks. She hung up, and dismissed the class crying…..she told us that President Kennedy had been shot.

It was scary…what was going on? I knew something BIG had happened. I ran home to my grandma’s house just 2 blocks away only to find her in front of the TV crying. Now I KNEW something BIG had happened. my Mom arrived shortly after and crying we all watched in horror the moments unfurl before our very eyes. There was a real shock to the atmosphere, assassination meant President Lincoln to most of us back then…… Not this beautiful young family, it couldn’t happen to them, everyone loved the Kennedy’s and their version of Camelot. THIS president had 2 young children, for god’s sake AND a beautiful wife everyone adored. HOW could this be happening?

The next day I was riveted to the TV, my Mom in the kitchen listening. All of a sudden I saw Jack Ruby shoot the supposed killer Lee Harvey Oswald…RIGHT THERE ON LIVE TV IN FRONT OF MY VERY EYES!!!! I will NEVER forget that moment.

On this day 47 years ago today the innocence of this country was lost in a rare moment.

“Don’t let it be forgot, that once there was a spot, for one brief shining moment that was known as Camelot.”

One thought on “JFK …47 yrs ago today.

Leave a Reply

